Our Team

Board of Directors 2019


Paul Carruthers, Senior VP & Regional Community Affairs Manager, Regions Bank

Vice Chair:
Lisa Miller, Manager of Communications & Marketing, Alabama Municipal Electric Authority

Ernie Cowart, Business Information, Economic Development Partnership of Alabama

Immediate Past Chair:
Charles Goodrich, Managing Director of Timberline Venture Investments

Chair, Development Committee:
Jim Byard, Jr., Byard & Associates, LLC

Vice Chair, Governance Committee:
Jeremy L. Arthur, IOM, President & CEO, Chamber of Commerce Association of Alabama

Treasurer & Finance Committee Chair:
John L. Thornton, Loan Fund Manager, North Alabama Revolving Loan Fund



Brandon Bias, AICP, LEED Green Associate, Regional and Community Planner, Goodwyn, Mills & Cawood

Tim Blair, CCIM, CPM, Principal, Shannon Waltchack

Veronica Crock, President, Ozark-Dale County Economic Development Corporation

Alexander D. Flachsbart, Founder, Opportunity Alabama

Deon Gordon, President Tech Birmingham

Cooper Holmes, Executive Director, Alabama Black Belt Foundation

Paul W. Kennedy, President, Walker Area Community Foundation

Wiley Lott, Director, External Affairs & Economic Development Southeast Alabama Gas District

Nisa Miranda, Director, University of Alabama Center for Economic Development

Rebel Negley, President, Image Strategies, LLC

Joe A. Sumners, Ph.D, Executive Director Emeritus Government & Economic Development Institute Auburn University 
Bevin Tomlin Community Development Manager, Alabama Power Company

Ted vonCannon, Executive Director Jefferson County Economic & Industrial Development Authority

Ex Officio Members

Kenneth Boswell, Director, Alabama Dept. of Economic & Community Affairs (ADECA)

Greg Canfield, Director, Alabama Department of Commerce Represented by Eddie Postell, Director of Small Business Advocacy

Lisa Jones, Executive Director Alabama Historical Commission Represented by Clara Nobles, Legislative Liason

Kay Moore, Executive Director, Downtown Gadsden, Inc.

Christian Sanford, State Representative, Office of Senator Richard Shelby

Herman Lehman, Montevallo City Clerk

Jo Jo Terry, CTIS, IOM, Digital Marketing Director/Gulf Coast Regional Director, Alabama Tourism Department



*Local Main Street Communities


Our Main Streets tell us who we are, who we were and how the past has shaped us.