Three new communities added to Main Street Alabama

Posted on Jun 05, 2018

A popular downtown revitalization program has chosen three communities to be added to its efforts.

Main Street Alabama today announced Foley, Scottsboro and South Huntsville have been selected as designated communities.

Main Street Alabama is a non-profit using public-private partnerships to stimulate downtown areas.

The three communities were selected through a five-month application process, which had to show a level of engagement to support the program.

Main Street programs work in four areas: organization, design, promotion and economic vitality, with strategies for market-based outcomes, say its organizers. The program works to cultivate a board, offer training and answer questions.

"When a district is ready for Main Street, as these are, our economic development program works," President and State Coordinator Mary Helmer said. "It brings jobs, dollars and people back to historic downtowns and neighborhood commercial districts."

Other Main Street Alabama communities are Alexander City, Anniston, Athens, Birmingham, Columbiana, Decatur, Dothan, Elba, Eufaula, Florence, Fort Payne, Gadsden, Heflin, Marion, Monroeville, Montevallo, Jasper, Opelika, Oxford and Wetumpka.

Main Street Alabama's Designated communities have reported 488 net new businesses, 1,932 net new jobs, $282,679,772 in private investment, $74,257,229 in public improvements and 61,201 volunteer hours in their districts collectively since June 2014.

Application workshops to become a designated community will be held again in January. Until then, communities interested in downtown and neighborhood commercial district revitalization can participate in Main Street Alabama's Network.

Learn More

    No events at this time. Check back soon!


Main Street is a powerful network of linked communities.