Scottsboro selected as Designated Community

Posted on Jun 01, 2018

Scottsboro, has been selected to join a statewide effort to build stronger communities through effective downtown revitalization. Main Street Alabama, a non-profit organization that uses a national model with a 40-year track record of success, designated the towns after a rigorous application process. 

According to Mary Helmer, State Coordinator for the program, Main Street Alabama will immediately begin providing each town with intensive board development, goal setting, work planning, market study with implementable economic development strategies, targeted technical assistance, and quarterly training related to downtown development. “When a community is ready for Main Street, as these three are, the time tested Four Point Approach® works,” Helmer said. “It brings jobs, dollars and people back to downtowns and neighborhood commercial districts.”  

Helmer added that the interview panel was impressed by the presentations each applicant made that demonstrated a love of their downtowns, a vision for what they could be, and the drive to make it happen. She noted that Scottsboro built an impressive grassroots movement that caught the attention of local leadership, demonstrated the capacity necessary to maintain a program and an understanding of how to capitalize on community assets, which made them stand out in the field of applicants.  

The announcement made on social media earlier this morning stated:  

“We’ve been crushing on this Jackson County Seat for months! With fabulous vistas where the mountains meet the lakes, the sky’s the limit for this community. The nurturing tradition of this community is evidenced by heritage businesses such as Payne’s Soda Fountain, a downtown anchor since 1861. In recent years, this community has received national attention for unclaimed items. Well, we say consider yourself #claimed! You’ve shown us that you’re not afraid to go for it so we’re gonna #PutARingOnIt @downtown Scottsboro! Let’s do this!” 

Scottsboro and 2 other communties will join Alexander City, Anniston, Athens, Birmingham, Columbiana, Decatur, Dothan, Elba, Eufaula, Florence, Fort Payne, Gadsden, Heflin, Marion, Monroeville, Montevallo, Jasper, Opelika, Oxford and Wetumpka and in using Main Street's comprehensive and incremental approach. Each Designated community listed above reports their success by tracking their reinvestment statistics. Main Street Alabama’s Designated communities have reported 488 net new businesses, 1,932 net new jobs, $282,679,772 in private investment, $74,257,229 in public improvements, and 61,201 volunteer hours in their districts collectively since June of 2014. 

Main Street Alabama will continue to add new communities annually. Application Workshops to become a Designated Community will be held again in January 2019. Until then, communities interested in downtown and neighborhood commercial district revitalization can participate in Main Street Alabama's Network. 



    No events at this time. Check back soon!


Our Main Streets are places of shared memory where people still come together to live, work and play.